PhD Student in 3D electron diffraction – Accurate structure refinement from 3D ED data


The Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, v. v. i. (FZU) is a public research institution, focusing on basic and applied research in physics. The Institute of Physics is the largest of the institutes of the Czech Academy of Sciences with more than 1300 employees, including a considerable number of international workers. The ambition of the Institute of Physics is to push forward the boundaries of knowledge and to conduct first-rate research in the fields of elementary particles, condensed systems and solid particles, optics, plasma physics and laser physics.


Laboratory of electron crystallography Prague, Czech Republic is one of the leading European laboratories where 3D electron diffraction has been developed. Within the currently running Horizon 2020 ITN project NanED (, we currently invite applications for the position of

PhD Student in 3D electron diffraction – Accurate structure refinement from 3D ED data

The successful candidate (m/f) will become a part of an internationally recognized research team. He/she will focus on the research theme „Accurate structure refinement from 3D ED data”.

The limits of the possible accuracy of structure determination from 3D ED data will be explored, with particular emphasis on optimal incorporation of the treatment of the dynamical effects.

What you will do

  • Test and optimize the dynamical refinement strategy for various types of materials and data collection methods
  • Generalize the dynamical refinement to include the effect of crystal imperfections, leading to the improvement of the fit to data from real crystal and to the accuracy of extracted structure models
  • Optimize the determination of absolute structure of non-centrosymmetric crystals
  • Develop and verify the calculation of Flack parameter from 3D ED data

Expected results

  • Software for the application of dynamical refinement to the most general range of experimental data
  • Computational method allowing to include and refine the effects of crystal imperfections in the calculation of diffraction intensities
  • A validated and reliable method of determination of the absolute structure of non-centrosymmetric crystals, including the determination of Flack parameter for cases of potential inversion twinning

Required qualifications

  • Master’s degree in chemistry, physics, material science
  • Advanced English - written and spoken
  • Following the guidelines of the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions, applicants must have not resided or carried out their main activity (work, studies, etc.) in the country where the PhD will be hosted for more than 12 months in the last 3 years preceding June 1, 2021


  • Working in an international and creative environment
  • Unique research facilities
  • Training and development possibilities (seminars, workshops, conferences, high-quality language courses, soft skills training)
  • Support of your work-life balance – flexible work hours, work from home, extended vacations
  • In-house tennis/ volleyball court, table tennis
  • And more benefits such as Multisport card, meal allowance, kindergarten operated by the ASCR
  • The Marie Skłodowska-Curie program offers highly competitive and attractive salaries. Gross and net amounts are subject to country-specific deductions as well as individual factors such as family allowance. This will be discussed in detail during the interview.

Terms of employment

  • Start of employment: Sept 2021
  • Full-time
  • 1-year contract with possible extension up to the end of the project

Application procedure

  • Please apply here:
  • The application deadline is 31.05.2021
  • Please check the web page also for other positions open within the NanED project
  • For more information write to the project supervisor Dr. Lukas Palatinus: palat [at] fzu [dot] cz or the project coordinator Mauro Gemmi: mauro [dot] gemmi [at] iit [dot] it

Information regarding the personal data processing and access to the personal data at the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences: