You are here

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Friday, 08.02.2019

Ing. Bohuslav Březina, CSc. passed away on February 4, 2019.

Monday, 04.02.2019

The Lumina Quaeruntur Premium is to provide financial support for prospective researchers to set up their own research team for a period of up to five years. The Academy of Sciences presented the programme and its first six laureates during a ceremony held at Národní třída, Prague, on Thursday, January 17th. One of the laureates is RNDr. Hana Lísalová, Ph.D. from the Department of Optical and Biophysical Systems of the Institute of Physics of the CAS (FZU).

Wednesday, 16.01.2019

In order to commemorate prof. Václav Dolejšek, the Institute of Termomechanics of the Czech Academy of Sciences plans to erect a monument in front of its building at the Mazanka Park in Ládví. The site is located in close vicinity of the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences.

Wednesday, 02.01.2019

On the 12th of December 2018, RNDr. Jiří J. Mareš, CSc. was awarded the Ernst Mach Honorary Medal for long-term merit in the development of his field in the physical sciences by prof. Eva Zažímalová, President of the Academy, on behalf of the Academy of Sciences.

Thursday, 20.12.2018

Santiago, Chile – On 19 December 2018, the Cherenkov Telescope Array Observatory (CTAO) and the European Southern Observatory (ESO) signed the final agreements needed for CTA’s southern hemisphere array to be hosted near ESO’s Paranal Observatory in Chile.