You are here

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Friday, 23.11.2018

The Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences received a record amount of 1670 visitors during its Open Days, which were held at its 4 sites – at Na Slovance, at Cukrovarnická and in laser centres HiLASE and ELI Beamlines in Dolní Břežany in November 2018.

Monday, 08.10.2018

Researcher’s Night Festival is a unique experience-focused event taking place throughout the evening hours in many places around the Czech Republic and other European countries. It involves presentations at universities, museums, libraries, science centres and institutes of science, including the Institute of Physics. This year’s edition, held on the 5th of October 2018, attracted a record number of 60 000 visitors, out of which 11 000 people paid a visit to the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Science.

Wednesday, 03.10.2018

Professor Gérard Mourou, one of the idea fathers of the Extreme Light Infrastructure project, won on Tuesday, along with two other scientists, the 2018 Nobel Prize for Physics, „for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics”. Thanks to their inventions, which revolutionised laser physics, advanced precision instruments are opening up unexplored areas of research and a multitude of industrial and medical applications. The other two scientists are the American Arthur Ashkin and the Canadian Donna Strickland

Tuesday, 18.09.2018

Vědci z Regionálního centra pokročilých technologií a materiálů (RCPTM) Univerzity Palackého v Olomouci, Fyzikálního ústavu AV ČR (FZÚ) a Ústavu organické chemie a biochemie AV ČR (ÚOCHB) v Praze našli nový způsob, jak řídit elektronické a magnetické vlastnosti molekul. Zatímco dosud se k vybuzení změny elektronického stavu molekul používaly vnější zdroje jako světlo, teplota, tlak nebo magnetické pole, čeští výzkumníci přišli s revoluční cestou,

Saturday, 08.09.2018

The Institute of Physics was at Researchers’ Festival also in 2018. And it had a lot of visitors! The event, which was held at Vítězné náměstí, in Prague 6, on the 5th of September 2018, received more than 17 000 visitors who wished to learn more about research, its practical...