You are here

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Thursday, 11.07.2019

The world‘s leading physicists took part in a discussion at a conference organized by the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences entitled Frontiers of Quantum and Mesoscopic Thermodynamics between July 15 and July 20. The participants also included five Nobel Prize winners: Theodor Hänsch, Gerard't Hooft, Wolfgang Ketterle, William Phillips and Rainer Weiss. Three of them gave, apart from their expert talks, popular lectures that were open to the public.

Tuesday, 02.07.2019

Four outstanding persons in science have been awarded (link is external) Honorary Medals of the Czech Academy of Sciences. Vladimír Nekvasil from the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences has received a “De scientia et humanitate optime meritis” Medal, a significant award for merit in science and dissemination of humanist ideas. Nekvasil significantly contributed to knowledge in the area of solid states physics and supported conceptual and organized development of science in the Czech Republic after the Velvet Revolution.

Tuesday, 02.07.2019

On July 1st 2019, 36 research institutions from nine countries officially signed the agreement for the creation of a new international R&D collaboration for a future wide field-of-view gamma ray observatory in the southern hemisphere. The founding countries of the newly created Southern Wide field-of-view Gamma-ray Observatory (SWGO) are Argentina, Brazil, Czech Republic, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States of America, creating a world-wide community around the project. SWGO unifies different communities that were already involved in R&D in this field. The signature of the agreement comes after a successful meeting of the scientists from the different countries, held in Lisbon in May.

Friday, 21.06.2019

A total of twenty-three scientists representing different fields of science received the prize for young talented scientists at a ceremony held at the Lanna Villa on the 19th of June 2019. Five of the prize winners are based at the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences. The award-winning laureates from FZU are Anna Artemenko, Renann Lipinski Jusinskas, Kateřina Kůsová and Oleg Lunov.

Wednesday, 29.05.2019

The Institute of Physics (FZU) was the biggest exhibitor at the popular Science Fair the second year in a row. Inside the FZU exposition the visitors from general public could penetrate into the world of light and environmentally-friendly technologies. But also lovers of elementary particles and low temperature plasma got...