You are here

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Saturday, 05.06.2010, J. Rameš

The Large Hadron Collider completed first two months of activity at the beam energy of 3.5 TeV. On June 2, the Director General of CERN Rolf Heuer issued a message assessing this period:

Tuesday, 18.08.2009

At the August 18, 2009 celebrating ceremony during the International Crystallographic Conference ECA in Istanbul Dr. Lukáš Palatinus received the Bertaut prize. The award is granted annually by the European crystallographic association and the European neutron scattering association to young scientists for major contributions to these subjects.