He studies thin films of nanostructured semiconductors, in particular for photovoltaics and photonics. He has led multiple grant projects, including international (H2020 project NextBase, FP7 project PolySiMode, FP5 project aSiNet, Barrande, DAAD etc.). He has been a visiting professor at Kyoto University in Japan and visiting researcher at Ecole Polytechnique at Palaiseau, France.

Since April 2017 he is the president of the Council for Sciences of the Czech Academy of Sciences. He is also member of the Scientific board of the Technical University of Liberec, Scientific board of CEITEC Nano and member of the Czech selection committee of the L’Oréal – UNESCO For Women in Science. He represents Czech Republic in Nanometer Structures Division of International Union for Vacuum Science, Techniques and Applications (IUVSTA). He is one of the principal organizers of the Summer school series on Physics at Nanoscale.

ORCID 0000-0003-0988-0772
ResearcherID A-3347-2009 
Scopus Author ID: 7003846146
Google Scholar