You are here

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Tuesday, 07.08.2018

FZU researchers recently introduced a new transformation induced plasticity (TRIP) like deformation mechanism activated in NiTi shape memory alloys at elevated temperatures and stresses. The mechanism involving coupled martensitic transformation, deformation twinning and dislocation slip explains gradual loss of functional behavior of NiTi alloys with increasing temperature and stress, refinement of microstructure and excellent deformability at very high stresses.

Tuesday, 03.07.2018

The unique L3-HAPLS laser system, developed by the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) for ELI Beamlines, was on July 2, 2018, ceremonially launched. After evaluation by an international peer review group, it has been declared fully integrated and operational. The system is ready for integration with the experimental systems and...

Wednesday, 16.05.2018

Czech scientists, in cooperation with Chinese colleagues, were the first to show the structure and determine mobility of ionic sodium hydrates, clusters made of water molecules and sodium atoms, involved in a number of significant physical, chemical and biological processes. Thanks to a special method, they confirmed that the mobility...

Monday, 16.04.2018

Discoveries made by the international team of the ASPIN project lead by Tomáš Jungwirth from the Department of Spintronics and Nanoelectronics of the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences have attracted worldwide attention. In order to create a new type of memory its members have used antiferromagnets, materials that had never before been considered for these purposes - not even theoretically.

Friday, 19.01.2018

Scientists from Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences and Palacky University in Olomouc, in collaboration with colleagues from the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Beijing University, have made significant progress in imaging water molecules. Scientists have developed a new method to achieve submolecular resolution of weakly...