Fyzikální ústav Akademie věd ČR

extreme light infrastructure New lasers for industry and research
Experimental Facilities in Physics and Material Science & Engineering Centre for innovation and technology transfer


Imperial College London, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics of Charles University
02/11/2017 - 08:00

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Monday, 03.02.2014

In ferromagnetic materials, information can be stored in “zeros” and “ones” defined by the orientation of magnetic moments, which can be pictured as small compasses (see Fig. 1a). This technology is behind a range of memory applications from kilobyte magnetic stripe cards to terabyte computer hard disks. It is dangerous to place a parking ticket or a hard disk next to another magnet or device generating strong magnetic fields because the magnetic moments of the memory can be unintentionally reoriented and the information lost

Wednesday, 22.01.2014

Scientists from the Institute of Physics of the ASCR, together with colleagues from Spain and France presented in the journal Nature Communications new theory of the origin of polyaromatic hydrocarbon molecules in the universe. According to the new theory, these molecules are formed by hydrogen etching of the graphitic surface of the stardust particles.

Monday, 25.11.2013, Ivan Pelant

The Josef Hlávka Prize is awarded to talented students at bachelor's, master's and postgraduate levels up to the age of 33, who have proved their exceptional capabilities and creative thinking in their branch of science. The names of the winners of this year's Josef Hlávka Prize were announced at Hlávka's manor house in Lužany near Přeštice on November 16, 2013.

Monday, 21.10.2013

Scientists from Institute of Physics ASCR contributed to development of a new approach to preparation of highly tunable microwave dielectrics exploring Srn+1TinO3n+1 with layered perovskite crystal structure. This material has in the form of 50 nm thin films and under mechanical strain excellent dielectric properties, which are promising for applications in microwave electronics, e.g. in cellular phones.

Thursday, 10.10.2013, Jiří Rameš

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded jointly to François Englert from Belgium and British physicist Peter Higgs for – as the official citation of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences reads – „the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider“.

Copyright © 2008-2014, Fyzikální ústav AV ČR, v. v. i.