Fyzikální ústav Akademie věd ČR

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Wednesday, 22.01.2014

Scientists from the Institute of Physics of the ASCR, together with colleagues from Spain and France presented in the journal Nature Communications new theory of the origin of polyaromatic hydrocarbon molecules in the universe. According to the new theory, these molecules are formed by hydrogen etching of the graphitic surface of the stardust particles.

Monday, 25.11.2013, Ivan Pelant

The Josef Hlávka Prize is awarded to talented students at bachelor's, master's and postgraduate levels up to the age of 33, who have proved their exceptional capabilities and creative thinking in their branch of science. The names of the winners of this year's Josef Hlávka Prize were announced at Hlávka's manor house in Lužany near Přeštice on November 16, 2013.

Monday, 21.10.2013

Scientists from Institute of Physics ASCR contributed to development of a new approach to preparation of highly tunable microwave dielectrics exploring Srn+1TinO3n+1 with layered perovskite crystal structure. This material has in the form of 50 nm thin films and under mechanical strain excellent dielectric properties, which are promising for applications in microwave electronics, e.g. in cellular phones.

Thursday, 10.10.2013, Jiří Rameš

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded jointly to François Englert from Belgium and British physicist Peter Higgs for – as the official citation of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences reads – „the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider“.

Tuesday, 01.10.2013, Michael Prouza, Michal Dušek

Václav Petříček

The biennial Charles Barrett Award has been established in 1986 to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of powder diffraction. Among recipients of the Barrett Award are the well-known names in the field of powder diffraction such as Juan Rodriques-Carvajal, Robert Von Dreele and Hugo Rietveld. This August Václav Petříček from Institute of Physics ASCR has received this award as the first recipient from the Czech Republic.

Copyright © 2008-2014, Fyzikální ústav AV ČR, v. v. i.