Fyzikální ústav Akademie věd ČR

extreme light infrastructure New lasers for industry and research
Experimental Facilities in Physics and Material Science & Engineering Centre for innovation and technology transfer


Institute of Physics, The Czech Academy of Sciences; Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, The Czech Academy of Sciences; Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Department of Condensed Matter Physics, Charles University; Faculty of Science, Department of Physical Chemistry, Charles University; Katchem Ltd.; Fulbright Foundation – Specialist Program
Paul S. Weiss
07/06/2017 - 10:00
The Dvořák Lecture
Prof. Paul Lecoq
13/06/2017 - 15:00

Welcome to our website

Fyzikální Ústav AV ČR, v. v. i. (FZU; in English: Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences) is a public research institute, oriented on the fundamental and applied research in physics. The founder of the institute is The Czech Academy of Sciences.

The present research programme of the Institute comprises five branches of physics: particle physics, the physics of condensed matter, solid state physics, optics and plasma physics. It also corresponds to the way how the institute is divided into major research divisions.

More about the research activities ...

Tuesday, 24.08.2010

On Sunday August 22, 2010 Prof. Jiří Niedele, a long-term member of the research staff of the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, passed away after a lengthy illness. It is a great loss for us, his colleagues, the Institute of Physics, as well as for the whole mathematical physics and particle physics community.

Monday, 07.06.2010, J. Rameš

The Large Hadron Collider completed first two months of activity at the beam energy of 3.5 TeV. On June 2, the Director General of CERN Rolf Heuer issued a message assessing this period:

Tuesday, 18.08.2009

At the August 18, 2009 celebrating ceremony during the International Crystallographic Conference ECA in Istanbul Dr. Lukáš Palatinus received the Bertaut prize. The award is granted annually by the European crystallographic association and the European neutron scattering association to young scientists for major contributions to these subjects.

Copyright © 2008-2014, Fyzikální ústav AV ČR, v. v. i.