Fyzikální ústav Akademie věd ČR


Tuesday, 17.01.2017 15:00 - 16:00

Evgeny Gorelov (Theory Group, European XFEL, Hamburg, Germany)

Abstract: The materials with strong electronic correlations are one of the most fascinating problems in modern solid state physics. They exhibit a variety of intriguing properties and phenomena, that are very sensitive to a change of control parameters (e.g. magnetization, temperature, pump-probe time delay, pressure). This remarkably rich physics is a consequence of competing kinetic and Coulomb energies of electrons, which makes a theoretical description of these materials and their electronic structure a challenging problem.

Tuesday, 24.01.2017 10:00 - 11:00

Aran Garcia-Lekue (Donostia International Physics Center, Spain)

Confined graphene nanostructures are of obvious importance for the development of graphene-based electronics. Moreover, they show distinct properties, e.g. energy band gaps, localized states and intrinsic magnetic moments, induced by the electron confinement at edge boundaries. Atomically precise graphene nanostructures can be produced on surfaces using different techniques, such as chemical vapor deposition (CVD) or on-surface synthesis.

Thursday, 02.02.2017 15:00 - 16:00

Petr Cígler (Institute of Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry of the CAS, v.v.i.)

Nanodiamonds (NDs) represent a key component in recent development of high precision optical resolution techniques. NDs can accommodate photoluminescent nitrogen-vacancy (NV) center – an extremely photostable crystal lattice defect emitting in near-infrared region. Electron transitions among NV quantum states can be influenced by very weak external electric or magnetic fields, which have been utilized for construction of various types of probes and nanosensors.

Copyright © 2008-2014, Fyzikální ústav AV ČR, v. v. i.