Fyzikální ústav Akademie věd ČR


Monday, 03.10.2016, Ivan Pelant

Since 2003 President of the Czech Science Foundation (GAČR) awards the “President Prize” as an appreciation of extraordinary results achieved within projects funded by GAČR and focused on the fundamental scientific research. The Prize, connected with a financial premium, is awarded every year, in particular for outstanding achievements acquired in working on projects successfully completed in the preceding calendar year. Four researchers may be awarded every year.

Tuesday, 30.08.2016, Michal Dušek

The 9th Max Perutz prize has been awarded to Václav Petříček from the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences during the opening ceremony of the 30th European Crystallographic Meeting on August 28th, 2016 in Basel (Switzerland). Václav Petříček is recognized for his contribution to practical application of the theory of aperiodic structures in his computing system JANA. The Max Perutz prize is awarded every first and second year, followed by the triennial Ewald prize of the International Union of Crystallography.

Monday, 07.12.2015

Vítězslav Jarý, Ph.D., the postdoctoral researcher at the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences in Prague, was awarded the prize “Česká hlava” (literal translation “Czech Head”). In particular, Vítězslav Jarý obtained the price of ČEZ group for the excellent PhD thesis in technical sciences.

Recently there has been increasing demand for new materials which can be used for detection of invisible ionizing radiation (X-ray, gamma ray), for example in industry (searching for leakage in materials, looking for new natural resources), medicine (CT, PET scanners), security (security checks at the airport gates), physics (LHC particle accelerator in CERN).

Thursday, 03.12.2015, Ivan Pelant, Michael Prouza

After the success of Mgr. Hynek Němec, Ph.D., who received in spring 2015 the “Neuron prize for young scientists” in physics, were announced two further winners, who have a close connections to Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences – prof. Petr Hořava, Ph.D. and Mgr. Anna Fučíková, Ph.D.

Saturday, 14.11.2015

The prestigious prizes of the Technology Agency of the Czech Republic for the best projects accomplished in applied research in 2015 were awarded at the official ceremony in the New building of the National Museum in Prague on October 22nd, 2015. Among four award-winning projects there were two projects that included teams from the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences (CAS).

Copyright © 2008-2014, Fyzikální ústav AV ČR, v. v. i.